Posted on

Wilkommen!

Someone write this for me.

I had an idea today. I actually have it every time I start rehearsing a new show, or even right as soon as I get cast in one.”I should bring my camera. Chronicle this show experience. Write a journal.”  I never have. I glom onto the photos others have taken, I keep all the newspaper clippings and programs. But these are always from the viewpoint of someone else. And they don’t usually speak of the process so much as the end result.

So this is my attempt (perhaps pathetic) at recounting what I go through in the course of the show run. I just wanna come back to this later and remember what I learned THIS time (the education never ends.)

Here’s some backstory for anyone reading: I live in Cobourg, Ontario and am involved with The Northumberland Players, one of our excellent local theatre groups. At this moment, I am playing Sister James in our production of Doubt:A Parable, and I’ve been rehearsing for a month or so now. TODAY, I had my first rehearsal for the musical Cabaret. A few weeks ago, I found out I was cast as a Kit Kat girl, and I was thrilled. From a nun to a whore…..I like to assume they think I have range.

Now, Doubt rehearsals. Sister James is incredible. Sweet, light, loving…which makes her a great challenge to play. I might actually HAVE those attributes, but they present very differently in me than her. The range of emotion is muted, but broad. The rest of the cast is magnificent, and this show will be so very powerful. I get a sore back from sitting so straight, and am greatly looking forward to wearing the habit.I’ll try to keep updating how this is going through the run in November. And if you’re reading this, you will be required to also come and SEE the show.

Cabaret today- started by warming up vocally and was reminded how limited my range is (though Susan is sure to help that.) Then I was measured, which is just ANOTHER reminder of how much bigger I am than the rest of the girls. Which I guess is why I was cast as Helga, a fair bit larger than the Emcee and a little scary/dominatrix-y. I can get behind this character, but sometimes I wish I hadn’t let myself get so damned curvaceous. We’re still a beautiful group of women though, and I’m so excited to be a part of it. I did okay on the choreography today, and wrote it down step by step in a notebook when I got home- kinda looks like this though, since I am not a dancer and don’t know the terms for things:

right foot first, arms up, hands to right first- 4 downstage, 4 upstage

turn to right shoulder 90 degrees hip thrust 8-count

right foot step, left foot/arm out to left

left foot step, right foot to right, right arm up

right foot step, left knee up, push boobs together

 

Yeah. These are just for me to practice from, thankfully.

 

 

 

 

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

10 responses to “Wilkommen!

  1. cathy ⋅

    I’m excited that you have made the decision to blog your Cabaret experience! I wished I had at least come out to watch the auditions, but will certainly look forward to seeing the show!
    I will anticipate the arrival of an email notice with a link to your updates! ‘I also look forward to seeing Doubt…I miss the stage; I’ve only just begun really, but will embrace the good fortune to watch so many talented people and know I will be back!
    Have fun Amber! Dance on…

  2. cathy ⋅

    Your step by step choreography notes remind me of practicing for “Going Down” in Hair! …and being so relieved to know the great scream from the audience was Alina screaming for joy that I got it right! Oh such wonderful memories! LOL!

  3. Eusene ⋅

    Can’t wait to see you in this show. I’ll be following the blog. BTW you’ll be awesome in Doubt!!!! What a range you have!!!

  4. shannon ⋅

    Amber I think this is going to be awesome, I have always wanted to Blog. Well actually I started one years ago but didn’t go to far with it. I will be following, although I will know all the fun stuff that happens at rehearsals, it will still be a lot of fun to read 🙂

  5. A-M ⋅

    Oh Helga, you naughty girl… Maybe I shall need to teach you a lesson or two, mon amie?
    Looking forward to sharing this awesome experience with you – Doubt AND Cabaret! Long live the Kit Kat Girls! :o)

  6. jan crane ⋅

    great start….keep it up.

  7. Kevin ⋅

    I’m so glad you’re doing this . . . I look forward to being a voyeur of your creative process!

  8. Texas ⋅

    Very excited to follow your blog. It will be interesting to see what it is like from another kit kat girl’s point of view. Keep going!!

  9. Lisa ⋅

    A nun or a whore… either way you are serving someone higher up.
    So impressed with the blog… and looking forward to costuming the cast backstage again. I’ll make sure the seams are straight.

  10. Yay! I’m so glad you’re doing this! Looking forward to reading (and HEARING) about the process. Xo

Leave a Reply

