Posted on

Yeesh.

Doubt is a Pulitzer prize-winning play. It’s really well-written, which is why I am so annoyed with myself after tonight’s rehearsal, when those lovely words were a hard time coming.

I mostly treat doing a show like a job. I like to have fun (I wouldn’t do this for free if it wasn’t fun) but when it comes down to it, it’s about focus and hard work.

Man, did I fuck that up.

I could not keep my focus and as quick as I wanted the pace to be, I couldn’t get there. There were extenuating circumstances, though, it wasn’t just me being an idiot. Super-tired, distracted with thoughts of work and maybe also the fact that I JUST BOOKED MY WEDDING FOR OCTOBER 13th OF NEXT YEAR AT VICTORIA HALL TODAY (Scheisse!) and kind of losing my connection with my fellow cast members a lot. A little unnerving when we open on November 4th, but I’m sure I’ll get there. As Heather, the shape of the scenes is good and, if I can STAY in character, I feel I have a good sense of it.Aargh. Anyone else get frustrated like this at rehearsals sometimes?

On a lighter note, I totally tried on my nun’s habit and I look AWESOME…I really may have missed my calling. Made me think about my first Cabaret costume (for Wilkommen) and what it will be like…I’m imagining a German officer of some sort (NOT a military officer, but like the polizei) with a short skirt and garters and…and a riding crop. I want to carry a riding crop again. Heh Heh….

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

2 responses to “Yeesh.

  1. Heather ⋅

    “Cut yourself some slack,” says your director. The lines that you’re goofing on have pretty much the same meaning in every sentence, with the words transposed. Folks were tired, we hadn’t had that panicked “OH MY GOD TWO WEEKS UNTIL SHOW!” feeling – it was due. Plus Sister James rocks!

    • Thanks, my director! I do believe it was just an off night. AS for the “2 weeks until show” panicked feeling, I have no idea what you’re talking about. Cool as a cucumber.

      *runs screaming into the night*

Leave a Reply

