Posted on

The wrong wolf suppressed the bishop!

There’s a small section of one scene in Doubt that I can’t seem to get memorized. I’ve used all my tricks, and made sure I knew the context of the scene well enough to know what comes next. But it’s the kind of scene where my lines resemble each other greatly, and nothing is working.

So I have a new one. Basically, I take a word from my cue line and relate it to my own. Hence “wolf” and “wrong” (both start with ‘W’,) “suppressed” and “bishop” (esses and pees) and “after” and “monsignor” (you guessed it- the “er” sound at the end.) I have never done this before, but it’s definitely helping. What are your techniques for memorization? And, oh yeah….DOUBT OPENS IN TWO WEEKS!

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

Leave a Reply

