Posted on

Theatrically-Related Digestive Issues

Whenever I am dealing with negative emotions or stress in my life, I find everything manifests itself in my stomach. I get nauseated and have tummy-aches, things I never have otherwise.

Doubt is a very serious play, and I have now come to the conclusion that we’re doing a great job, because after I have finished a particularly emotional scene, my stomach is in TURMOIL. I don’t consider myself a “Method” actor at all, I’m more technically inclined. I go onstage, hit my marks. But I also learned from some very talented people that if I THINK the thought the character would be thinking, the proper expression will appear. And I guess it will also make you feel the real emotions, because I sometimes want to vomit during and after a scene.Considering the subject matter, I suppose it makes sense. Guess I’ll be popping the Tums for the run of THIS show.

What about you- how does your body react when you’re performing?

 

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

Leave a Reply

