Posted on

Sister James-Member at Large

I attended my first Northumberland Players Annual General Meeting last night, and found it very interesting. I am happy to say I now get to try my hand at being a part of the Board as their Member at Large. I have little idea what that means, and have never been on the board of anything, but what I lack in knowledge and know-how I hope to make up in enthusiasm. I am unsure of how much time I will have to devote to it as well considering I work 90 hours in 2 weeks and have 2 kids and oh yeah, I’m getting married in less than a year!!…but I think it may be a learning experience, and who doesn’t like those?

Starr, Greg and I also performed a scene from Doubt, and let me say, I was terrified- way more nervous than a regular performance. Helen said it was because these were my peers, and I think she might have been right. It’s different when some of your fellow NP members and friends MIGHT be in the audience than when they’re ALL there. Eep. It went very smoothly though, and I was very happy to see some scenes from other shows AND grateful for the wine served after, let me tell you.

Tonight’s performance went very well- smaller audience, but in the Firehall, that is no problem…you still feel like you’re performing to a nice amount of people. I felt pretty worn out tonight and must confess I actually dozed during the one longer scene I’m not in. It’s a good thing Sister James mentions how she can’t sleep anymore because I’m sure that’s exactly what it looked like.

And of course I get home and am awake for an hour or more. It’s all good though..I just work tomorrow and then have a fun weekend to look forward to.

I’m sure I’ll see many of you too- which is, you know, cool, I won’t, like, look for you anything, but maybe if you’re around…we could make out or something. Whatev.

šŸ™‚

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

Leave a Reply

