Posted on

Such a lucky girl I am…

SO, this past Sunday was cool. It was the first day in a week I didn’t have to get up at 5 a.m!

Also, my family and many of my fellow Cabaret castmates and crew came to see the final performance of Doubt. It was incredible to see them all there in the audience, though I was also a little more nervous than usual. I find I feel nervous more often now. Lost some of the cocky assuredness I had when I was a dumb kid. But it was great to perform in front of a supportive audience. And then I spent a large part of the rest of the day with these same people. Sweet.

Rehearsal was BRUTAL….choreographing Sitting Pretty/ The Money Song was very….uh….challenging for me. My brain was useless and I had no memory from one run to the next. I am relieved to have a bit of time to practice this week.Because, holy shit, I need it. But, though I can really only speak for myself, we KitKat girls had fun groping the Emcee and playing sexy and crawling around on the floor….which we did a LOT. My “musical” knee bruise has become a musical all-over bruise. I’d really like to wear those knee-pads construction workers wear…now THOSE would be sexy.

Since a large part of the cast had been at the theatre since 1:30, we were dying of starvation by 7. It was lovely to head to Jack’s for pizza and relax. Not a lot of time to talk and get to know everyone since rehearsals are quite busy, so I liked this a lot. I’m hoping for more cast & crew get-togethers over the next few months…like Paul’s proposed Christmas party on the 10th……it’s hard to be half-naked onstage with people you don’t know very well. Or so I’ve heard….

My day yesterday ended with a sleeping pill and an unread book. AND I still went back to bed this morning and slept for THREE more hours. It was heaven….unfortunately now I’m up too late again. I guess it’s time to try for sleep. Auf wiedersehen ( I guess it’s time to shed Sister James completely and embrace Helga, nicht wahr?)

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

2 responses to “Such a lucky girl I am…

  1. shannon ⋅

    Hey your performance was amazing 🙂 everyone did such a great job. If people didn’t see this one then they missed out.
    The kit kat girls are working very hard, everyone is doing great. I am sure Michael didn’t mind the groping either. You are right though Amber we need more PARTIES, hey that’s my specailty 🙂

  2. Cathy ⋅

    Amber, Very much enjoying following along in your theatre adventures! I missed out! 😦 I’m sorry; like really sorry, not to have made it to Doubt! I enjoyed the movie but am certain I would have thoroughly enjoyed watching such a talented cast “bring it” on stage!
    I am missing theatre a lot and of course all of the lovelies like yourself! I am somehow in a different place right now and just don’t think I could do it!? It brings me down but perhaps in time I’ll get back! I was sure I’d at least participate in auditions just for the sake of auditioning!
    I WILL look forward to seeing Cabaret, and an amazing cast and crew! I imagine what fun to be a Kit Kat girl, while immediately imagining the intense choreography and after attending a first Zumba last night, well it brought back some memories in trying to follow along! LOL!
    You are amazing and wow, one show after another and just keep proving your talent-though I already know how talented you are! I appreciate the tips/techniques you share and I guess if I’m ever going to try them out I’ll have to get back in there!

    Go Get ’em Kitkathelga!

Leave a Reply

