Posted on

“Sexy is easy…..nun is hard.”

The title of this post is a direct quote from me when Alyssa commented that I even made a point of sitting down on my chair in (what I consider) a sexy way at the beginning of “Don’t Tell Mama.” I was being sassy. But allow me to let you in on a little secret.

I am very often full of shit.

But maybe with a lot of work, I can be sexy. It will probably take a buttload of corseting and binding for the appearance to match the mindset. But really, it’s all about the mindset, right? Watching Alina’s recording of our dancing was mortifying and just another reminder I should have done P90X OVER AND OVER…must THINK sexy. I’ve heard sexy comes in all shapes and sizes. Even soft and pillow-like, like I am. Which means men and women want to sleep on me, right?

But enough about me and my insecurities. I want to take an opportunity to say what I think may of us are thinking…. I miss Elly!!!!

Elly,if you’re reading this, it sounds like you’re going through a most horrendous illness and we can’t wait until you’re better and back with us. It hasn’t been the same without you, and we’re going to have so much fun when you’re back (we’re just faking it until you’re here.)

Other things going through my head in the last day or so:

– singing the ‘Do-Wa’ note in “The Money Song” over and over to cement it in my brain (now to get the rest of the song)

– how much my neck hurts from the numerous times I must swivel my head when we sing “Money makes the world GO AROUND”

– how missing 3 weeks of Zumba has made me feel way fatter, even though I weigh and probably look exactly the same

– Christmas, kids, work, wedding, Board stuff, friends I miss, (the same stuff everyone thinks about, quit whining, you idiot)

Sexy Helga is getting her sexy PJ’s on (consisting of an Old Navy tank top and butt-covering underwears) and going to bed. Night all!

 

 

 

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

3 responses to ““Sexy is easy…..nun is hard.”

  1. Cathy ⋅

    I do so love reading your posts….feel a little more like I’m in the loop! Sort of!
    Amber…stand up tall and say out loud, “Damn, I am Sexy!” There, that’s better! No more self depracation!!!
    There’s such a lot to do …I can’t wait to see the show…you’ll be amazing and have all the dance moves down pat!
    The kids, work, the show and Christmas stuff will all come together and it will be fine. I can imagine how you are feeling, I just think about the idea of doing a musical; any play and I feel immediate exhaustion! I DO hope to get back in there though!
    Take care of yourself, deep breaths and get some sleep! …and know you too are missed! :o)

  2. Heather ⋅

    Amber – you don’t realize how sexy you just ARE. You don’t have to work at it hon… See yourself through the eyes of everyone who knows you. When you look out at that audience you give ’em that “I know you want me and maybe I will and maybe I won’t” look.

Leave a Reply

