Posted on

Can you, can you do the can-can…

And we’re back!

Cabaret rehearsals were back in full swing shortly after the New Year began- the Kit Kat girls are determined to nail all of these dances and look great- and then Alina started us on the kickline that begins Act 2. Our determination and drive is still there, but my body was about ready to go on strike.

Did you know the whole time you’re kicking with one leg, you have to keep hopping on the other foot as prettily as you can? Do you know what that does to a woman my size? It makes her boobs tired. And her neck and shoulders sore from having her arms around the beautiful lady next to her for so long.

But really truly, I love it. I might be quite dead after going through the whole dance ONCE, but it’s going to look so lovely as soon as I can look happy while I’m doing it. I just have to have supportive undergarments.

I was really happy to get back to seeing everyone too- bonding with your fellow castmates is key. Since many of us don’t have scenes with many others of us though, I find the bonding hasn’t incorporated EVERYONE quite yet. The Kit Kat girls have been spending much time with each other and the Emcee in various stages of undress, so immediate comraderie occurs there.

Note: I DID find a Karaoke bar in Peterborough where you can rent rooms with just your friends and sing the night away, so I think we should all DO THAT. Someone needs to organize THAT event soon. (Shannon.)

All right, meine freunde- we’re in mid-January now, and getting ready to rock this show. I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Helga

 

 

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

One response to “Can you, can you do the can-can…

  1. Texas ⋅

    Karaoke sounds awesome! And I’m so excited your blog is back, I’ve been waiting!!!!

Leave a Reply

