Posted on

All the signs are there

Hell Week is imminent- as I mentioned in a Facebook status, my body hitting sleep mode the second I sit in one spot is the first sign. It is building up stores to replace what I’ll be losing over the next week or so. That is a good thing. The other signs that we’re nearing opening night are less positive.

I am itchy.

Not anywhere unmentionable or gross, but some very specific spots that won’t stop BEING itchy. The top of my right foot near my big toe and the outside of my left foot. The side and back of my left knee.. My right ankle. My right shoulder blade. I don’t see a specific cause, like a rash or something but there’s at LEAST a psychosomatic cause, and frankly, that’s real enough for me.

My skin is being very rebellious.

Even though I’ve been trying to take really good care of it since so much of it will be seen, and I don’t normally have much of a problem with breakouts, it’s not very pretty right now- dry, blemished and STILL continuously marked with bruises- I have yet to get through a rehearsal without adding a new one, and I am acting like a delicate flower at work trying not to hurt myself. (There’s a surprising amount of heavy lifting at Tim Hortons.) My skin is pissed because I am clumsy and it should just shut up.

I am using 30 words where 3 would suffice.

This is an excitement and adrenal and hormonal thing- all of these kick into high gear, which makes me talk a lot. I don’t say anything extra of substance, I basically just repeat my first point over and over again until I’ve beat it to death. And the topic was probably stupid to begin with, since my brain is on overdrive at this time, and not really capable of any real profound thought.

WAY more stuff pisses me off.

Like, being itchy, bad skin, and talking too much.

BUT- I have chosen to believe all of these challenges shall be overcome next week, and my skin will be dewy and glowing, my bruises will heal and I will shut the hell up long enough to sing. And dance, cause man, that kickline needs all the air I have.*passes out cold*

 

 

 

About kitkathelga

36 years old, and a coffee shop manager for a long time- but the love of theatre keeps me from going crazy. My town has a magnificent community theatre company that keeps letting me play onstage for some reason. I'm getting married for the first time next year to the most wonderful man, and I have a 16 year old daughter and an 11 year old son (yes I did everything backwards, I know.)

Leave a Reply

